top of page

JUDGING 4: Pharaoh Coturnix

These are the comments and results of Day Four of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.


Breanna's Comments:

As these are my birds, I have a bit of the upper hand in the judging. I am also arguably most familiar with quail, having the advantage of working to write the standard with the ACBA and working with some of the best breeders in the world. Quail are not an easy one to judge--much like guineas, many judges are not used to handling or seeing them and are therefore uncomfortable judging them. That being said, it was wonderful to see so many comments and conversations being continued on the posts.


Top Participant Evaluations:


"The girl I feel is better conditioned, but its almost a draw for me. Heavy consideration here just for the overall bird. Both of your birds are lovely. I would love to see some of their competitors to make a solid judgment call, but for now the girl takes it for me."

-Catherine Cleveland


"Totally new to all this, but from what I have learned Crazy would be closer to standard. The wing set of Iris is low and not tight. The beak looks a little long and curved where Crazy seems to have a more even beak and head shape. The color on Crazy for Pharaoh is very nice. I like the definition in chin strap and nice white lines. The back is good on Crazy not a “potato” shape. Where Iris back is straight missing natural curve. Color seems muted on Iris might be mixed with something else? Eyes on Crazy better round not inset. Iris seems to have more almond-shaped eyes and might seem a bit inset on face. Crazy leg set is balanced. Weight supported by trunk. Iris leg set seems a bit more set back. I love learning so please let me know other thoughts!"

-Mandi Smith


"Overall I think Iris has a more plump and put-together shape with a good head shape but because of her dropped wings I have to go with Crazy for this one."

-Jada Spiegel


"I have no idea but Iris in spite of her beak and wings seems to be larger, meatier. Crazy has nice wings and beak, and a nice overall look of well put together."

-Cathryn Therese


Arguably my favorite (just because of the description):

"I know nothing about quail but I'm going with Iris based off the football shape and the Vibes."

-Cas Hannon



Breeder Comments:


They are judged very similar to standard-bred turkeys in that the focus is on type and structure over coloration. First and foremost, they are a production bird. They need to be balanced and optimized for both egg and meat production--though lines can be bred to exaggerate one or the other, they should be able to do both. The best way to tell from the photos are through the top and bottom lines.


Some things to note: Iris's wing is just splayed weirdly because of the position. She was about to fly in this photo. The coloration difference is also because of the lighting--Crazy is in a photo box, while Iris is in natural light. Both have that clean chinstrap and similar tones.


When holding the two side by side it becomes a bit easier. Both have decent legset and hocks that don't throw them off balance. I like Crazy's head shape and proportions much more than Iris's, but he is a very slender and lean bird, especially as a rooster. Iris carries her breast and overall bottom line better. She's not without her faults either--her back is getting close to roach, though some of it is her low stance in the photo, but overall has the structure and capacity for more growth and organ development that Crazy just doesn't. I actually keep Crazy as a backup rooster in my mixed-layer pens and not as my main breeder for this reason. Because of all of this, Iris wins it for me.



Judge's Evaluations:

"Crazy takes second, while the hen, Iris, takes first." Judge Brian Decker.









54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page