top of page

JUDGING 27: WATERFOWL CHAMPION

These are the comments and results of Day Twenty-Seven of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.



Breanna's Comments:

I chose GCM99 for my champion duck, so this pairing was a bit challenging for me. I was not expecting Franklin to get this far, no offense to Austin or Franklin, so this pairing was unexpected.


Looking at this pairing, I think I have to choose Franklin to beat WHM77. Solely for the fact that I wanted the Grey Call to win, and Franklin beat him so I believe Franklin should also beat WHM77 (selfish of me, I know). For an actual explanation, the biggest thing I am looking at here is the ring around the Harlequin's neck just not being as complete. The Harlequin color all around is just so much harder to achieve because there is so many more flaws that can be there. Franklin has the better color, has the better head. The Harlequin's head is on the larger side for a lightweight, while Franklin's is a bit better balanced.


Top Participant Evaluations:

"Admittedly I did think the Campbell was better than the Call but judges always pick Calls so that’s what I went with. My bracket is so shot, since I picked Romeo to win it all. Since I clearly can’t read judge Decker’s mind as well as I thought (Campbell winning over Call as evidence), I am going to go with MY preference. I prefer the Campbell over the Harlequin. Yes, he has uneven coloring in his neck (looks like he must be coming into nuptial plumage) while the Harlequin has beautiful coloring. Yes he lacks a slight bit of depth (he is angled away from the camera a bit so I think it is actually just an illusion) but he epitomizes light duck type. He has a long, tubular body and his eyes are high in the head. The Harlequin is a bit too heavy and his eyes are too low."

-Jada Spiegel


"WHM77 is my choice for overall duck in the entire competition. Hes a lovely drake, and true to breed."

-Catherine Cleveland


"I also picked the call..if I had to choose between these it would be the khaki. Better shape, color, type..."

-Emmy Lineweaver


Breeder Comments:

"Hello, sorry for my late response, it’s been busy here.

I really love light weight ducks so this is a great pair to go against each other.

There are some flaws in both and some really nice things about each.

Let’s start with WHM77, he has a really nice stance, I love his coloring (some parts could be better). I love his olive green bill and is orange feet.

Now on to Franklin, he has really nice coloring, I like his stance, his bill color is right and feet are right. I wish some parts of the brown were more even then they are.

Both fit the standard nicely and both show their breed well.

I would choose Franklin in this situation."

-Austin Noah



Judge's Evaluations:

"I would have liked the GC up on champion row with Franklin, and he could have been a contender over WHM77. They are very close, but because I placed Franklin first last time, I placed him first again here. He takes the Champion Duck."




Congratulations to Mr. Austin Noah for taking Champion Waterfowl in this bracket!



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page