top of page

JUDGING 25: BANTAM CHAMPION

These are the comments and results of Day Twenty-Five of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.



Breanna's Comments:

I loved watching the comments on this one and seeing them go back and forth. Mr. Bell's was expecially interesting--I liked seeing the outlines overlayed on the image for perspective.


Expecially after looking at the overlays, I think the winner is clearly the Brahma bantam. Both birds are just wonderful specimans, but the Brahma just has a bit showier type and structure, and the Australrop, while being a beautiful breeding cock, just needs a bit longer of back with a slightly higher tail angle. Therefore, the brahma places first for me.


Top Participant Evaluations:

"I think I made a bad call when I placed the Rhode Island Red over the Brahma. This Brahma is not bad, he has a bit too high of a topline, decent depth (could be deeper). His color is a bit weak on the underside. What really stands out is the thickness of his skull and neck. Also, he has a great wing carriage. The Australorp has beautiful depth of body but his back is short and his wing too low. Also his head is somewhat weak. Beautiful neck and tail though. In spite of how I placed them on my bracket I think I would pick the Brahma over the Australorp today. The Brahma's flaws are more cosmetic than structural."

-Jada Spiegel



"Here's the comparison to illustrations that are in my opinion the closest to both breeds written standards. My choice is 3BM, he is very typey, beautiful wing carriage and type, and that skull is fabulous. The Australorp is a beautiful specimen but his back is an inch or so to short for me and wings need to be tighter to move forward in this round. Low wings in a breeding program are very hard to breed out of a line ( in my own experience), there are other traits I'd let slide more in choosing birds than low wings."

-Blake Bell

"I knew that was a Jimmy Church bird before I realized it said his name under the picture. In my head while scrolling, “that looks just like one of Jimmy’s birds, oh wait…”

-Maegan Short Holland


"I went back and forth on this pairing...I finally picked the brahma over the australorp bc the australorp needs a little deeper chest...higher tail angle...a little better wing carriage. The brahma has an odd angle of the tail..I think bc of the posing in the pic..it makes the tail look higher than it really is. He could have slightly darker chest coloring and maybe a wider skull like the brahma female had.. but extremely nice brahma and that is just trying to look for something to pick on."

-Emmy Lineweaver


"3BM is my choice between these two fine examples of excellence. He is better put together for his breed. AUM31's comb is my only set back when looking at the overall picture and their respective breeds."

-Catherine Cleveland


Breeder Comments:

N/A



Judge's Evaluations:

"3BM takes champion Bantam." Judge Brian Decker




Congratulations to Mr. Jimmy Church for taking Champion Bantam in this bracket!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page