top of page

JUDGING 19: Waterfowl Semifinals

Updated: Mar 29

These are the comments and results of Day Nineteen of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.



Breanna's Comments:

Finally. I will be posting several more judgings tonight, keep your eyes out! Again, please be patient with both Mr. Decker and myself as we finish up.


This is a very hard pairing for me. Waterfowl is not my strong suit, and the photo of Romeo just doesn't do him justice both with color and the angle. Both drakes are great birds. For me, typewise they both are very close to the standard description and images, but the coloration of WHM55 just stands out more. It is very hard to achieve that crisp of markings. I know lately I've been focused on type and structure and hammering that home, but I do want to appreciate the work needed to get that nice of color. When comparing the two given photos, I have to go with WHM55.



Top Participant Evaluations:

"I prefer Romeo. He is nearly perfect in every way. Strong, broad, medium type, great dark color. If I had to find a flaw it would be that his eye is too high in the head (eye height is not mentioned for this breed which is why I would imagine it is to be moderate), but the Welsh Harlequin's is too low so they balance each other out.

The Welsh Harlequin has great color and his type is very good, but not quite as good as Romeo. His head and body are just slightly more full and short than how I envision the Standard, not by very much, though. He is still very long and tubular."

-Jada Spiegel



"Going back to the other pic posted of Romeo I would pic him over the welsh harlequin..this pic shows a better shape than the original...good color..the welsh has pretty good color but shape needs a little work as well as neck color."

-Emmy Lineweaver



"WHM77 is my choice for overall in the duck category. Romeo is lovely and perfect competition for this other drake. But WHM77 is by far the nicest drake in the competition overall."

-Catherine Cleveland



"The Cayuga has a white feather. The Welsh Harlequin doesn't have the most even of neck rings but with the white feather on the Cayuga I would go with the Welsh Harlequin."

-Jason Keeney



Breeder Comments:

N/A



Judge's Evaluations:

"WHM takes first, and Romeo takes second." -Judge Brian Decker







18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page