top of page

JUDGING 15: Khaki Campbells

These are the comments and results of Day Fifteen of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.

NOTICE: These are the final results for the first round of eliminations. The brackets will be due tomorrow (3/21/2024) at 22:00 (10 PM) EST. You can submit your brackets via chat or email (pipsnchicks@gmail.com) alone with your chosen winner, name, and explanations.


Breanna's Comments:

The last results for the first round of eliminations!! Comments are starting to dwindle off a bit, so please keep posting your thoughts and critiques for others to read.


These are very similar to the Welsh Harlequin when judging, which makes it a bit easier for me, again being that waterfowl are not my specialty. The lighting on Frankie also makes it a bit hard to compare the color properly with Franklin, though type-wise both are clearly visible.


Starting from the head down: I would lave liked to see the eyes a bit better. Both are supposed to be towards the top of the head and very alert. It looks as if Frankie's is, but I can't tell on Franklin at all. Both have decent necks that are held nicely and slender. Both ducks look to have a bir of curve to their otherwise flat back, I'm guessing just from the wing position. Frankie does look to be wider across the back than Franklin because of this, and almost approaches the look of a lean Buff. Franklin looks to have better foot and foot placement, with a wide hip and stance to allow for better organ capacity, and it's just hard to see overall on Frankie. I also like Franklin's carriage slightly better, though it could be the angle of the photo. The color on Franklin is more uniform throughout, though it appears greyish rather than the Khaki on Franklin.


In the end, Franklin just loos a bit closer to the standard descriptions and drawings when compared directly to Frankie for me.



Top Participant Evaluations:

"I am picking the female in this duet. I do love the color of the drake but he appears too thin. The female is more to breed and more hearty in appearance. It could also just be his pose here too."

-Catherine Cleveland


"I prefer the drake. Color is correct. They are a light class breed which he exhibits, in a balanced body structure that isn't too heavy and compact, or too light going more towards runner in type. His stance is more erect, not bottom heavy to set the body carrage too high, or excessive keel to pull down where the 45% stance angle from breast to tail is set."

-Tyler Jansen


"The drake is better with his long, tubular body and even coloring. The hen is too heavy for the breed (a light duck) and her coloring is uneven."

-Jada Spiegel


Breeder Comments:

"They both have done very well at shows, I would say the Franklin is slightly better, I like how he is standing and how I’m his color is, his condition is better and his bill and feet are great too. Frankie is very well and I love her coloring as well, I wish she was in better condition and had a better pose. I think if I was choosing I would do Franklin."

-Austin Noah



Judge's Evaluations:

"Franklin takes first, and Frankie takes second." -Judge Brian Decker









15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page