top of page

JUDGING 13: Rhode Island Reds

These are the comments and results of Day Thirteen of the March Madness poultry judging. For previous pairings, instructions, and a copy of the bracket, please see our other "blog" posts. All of the participant comments are available on our FB page and previous posts here.


Breanna's Comments:

I am still waiting on the comments from Mr. Decker on some of the ducks yet--it has been a long night for me and I am catching up on work. They will hopefully be posted this evening or tomorrow morning, as soon as he gets back to me.


This pairing was one of the hardest for me so far. They both are very good birds, clearly prepped well for show, and have their own faults. The photo of the cock could have been a bit better taken--it is uncertain if his wing is just because he is moving in the frame, or if it is actually a trait. If it's a trait, he is an automatic cull for me. The hen is nicely poised though. I like the mahogany color on the cock, though his eyes and head are a touch small. His comb is decent, and I like the leg color, which can be harder to get. The tail angle is a bit high for me today, and is fanned a bit deeper than called for in the breed. The female is immaculately conditioned. There are few flaws that catch my eye on her: her comb is irregular on an otherwise very proportionate face. The legs are getting that brown smut that isn't preferred in the breed, especially for what looks to be a fairly young layer. Her breast also needs to fill out a touch more, and the cushion is fluffed enough to prevent that flat back seen in the standard. But I just can't overlook that male wing, so despite the wider bird and better shape IMO, the female will take the class.


Top Participant Evaluations:


"The male is my choice overall, even though the female has a better form, she has 3 things i do not like when it comes to RI reds either bantam or standard. She has a little nick by her right eye and I am not a fan of her comb and I'm not crazy about her coloring on her legs.The male although a bit "spread in the tail" as some would say, he is more true to breed than she is."

-Catherine Cleveland


"I should put more input on these. As these pairings are such good learning tools, and I can see how I do. But I would use the pullet here. She has a really nice top line and spread of tail. She also has really nice color and great wing carriage. Would like to see here show a tad more thigh and shank.

The male I would use second because his tail is to much spread and wing carriage needs to be more horizontal.

But two really nice birds!"

-Ryne Crosthwait


"The female is better. She has a great wing carriage. The male has very dropped wings. He does have a nice long, flat back and tail carriage which helps lend the nice brick shape. The hen's is very good as well. Both could use more length on their keels, they are insufficient in depth, the female especially. That takes away from the rectangular shape. The male's eye color is too light. Their heads could be longer, it is a bit round over the top. This gives the appearance of their combs being huge."

-Jada Spiegel



Breeder Comments:

"RF14 is the winner. In the photo she appears young and lacks depth through the chest, the way that she is standing with her neck outstretched may contribute to the apparent lack of the desired brick body shape.

RM13 while he is in very good condition he is lacking in length of back and I think carries his tail a bit higher than the 20 degree angle that the standard calls for."

-Joy Brattlie with B's Garden Exhibition Poultry and Rabbitry



Judge's Evaluations:

"RM3 takes first while RF4 takes second. The male just has more body, though the female does have a better tailset." -Judge Brian Decker









7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page